Posted on August 17, 2017 at 7:39 am

Bollywood Entertainment

Lucknow Central Team Celebrates Independence Day At Yerwada Central Jail


The team of Lucknow Central – Farhan Akhtar, Diana Penty, Ronit Roy, Ravi Kishan, Deepak Dobriyal, Rajesh Sharma and Inaamulhaq – chose to celebrate the 70th year of Independence in a different style this year. How may you ask?

Yerwada Central Jail, which houses several convicts, now opened its doors to the team of Lucknow Central. In the presence of 4000 inmates at the Yerawada Jail in Pune, the team was welcomed with a warm round of applause from the inmates and police officers.

The event kick-started with Bhushan Kumar Upadhyay, ADG (Prisons) thanking the team for taking this initiative. He also spoke about Yerawada Jail’s efforts with regards to the reformation and rehabilitation of the convicts.

The jail inmates and police officers were also seen partaking in the cultural extravaganza. The celebrations began with the rendition of yesteryear Mohammed Rafi song Chahoonga Main Tujhe sung by an inmate, Nitin Arole followed by a foot-tapping version of the Marathi pop sensations Ajay-Atul’s ‘Bring It On’sung by police officer Prabhakar Mali, and Pratibha Ghugre who sang the renowned desh-bhakti number ‘Aye Mere Watan Ke Logon’. In line with the pre-independence courtly practice, the warm, matronly Swati Sathe, DIG (prisons), announced a cash reward for the police personnel and two months’ sentence off for Nitin.


The cast exclusively showcased their upcoming song ‘Teen Kabootar’ to the inmates. The highlight of the event was when Farhan Akhtar invited Deepak Dobriyal on stage who gave the inmates a glimpse of the body percussion that will be shown on the track.

Composed by Arjunna Harjaie, the song is all about mouth and body percussions and the usage of plates and buckets as a replacement for musical instruments. The song was officially launched yesterday.

Further, Farhan along with music composer, Rochak Kohli, performed yet another track from the Lucknow Central album, LIVE for the inmates. With the audiences rooting for Rock On, the talented actor/singer fulfilled their request by performing on stage alongside two police officers and the inmate Nitin Arole.

A sweet gesture by the team of Lucknow Central indeed!

Produced by Viacom18 Motion Pictures and Emmay Entertainment, Lucknow Central stars Farhan Akhtar, Diana Penty, Ronit Roy, Deepak Dobriyal, Gippy Grewal, Rajesh Sharma and Inaamulhaq. Directed by Ranjit Tiwari, the film releases on 15th September 2017.