Posted on April 27, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Bollywood Featured What's Happenin'

#Awards: Dadasaheb Phalke Awards brings in a colorful evening!

Mumbai got very shiner when many shining stars from Bollywood and Television were seen together at the Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2016. The Dadasaheb Phalke excellence Award recognizes the contribution of film personalities towards the development of Indian Cinema. Dadasaheb Phalke excellence Award is given to a film personality for their outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian Cinema.  The event saw the presence of who’s who from Bollywood and Television Industry comprising of a lot of celebs. The show starts by lighting the auspicious lamp as a favorable start and a sign of future success for the evening. It was anchored by renowned television personality, Rohit Roy.


Actor Sanjay Khan and Actress Poonam Jhawer were seen welcoming Honourable Industrialist Shri Ratan Tata who was the chief guest of the evening. Poonam said,

“I am really glad and honured to have Mr Ratan Tata who has graced  the occasion and to made this day memorable for the film fraternity. Ratan Tata was seen honoring the Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Award to  Actress Shabana Azmi for the movie Neerja  as she got an award for her mezmerising performance in the movie. Ratan Tata also honored Actress Kamini Kaushal for the  Lifetime achievement award for recognizing contributions over the whole career. Ratan Tata said, “It’s an honored to be the part of such a great night and to be with many renowned people from the film industry.”


The night got dazzled when the Disco king and the Golden man of the film industry Bappi Lahiri got his lifetime achievement award for the wonderful era of music which can be never replaced Bappi Lahiri seen praising director and filmmaker Sooraj Barjatya and his father Rajkumar Barjatya for all his support and encouragement in his life, he said,

“It’s really a great honour to get Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Award and I love it. I want to thank Sooraj Barjatya and Rajkumar Barjatya who was always there for me.”

After his overwhelming response, Bappi Lahiri honors the Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Award to Satish Reddy for the World News Network as the “Best International News Agency”. Satish Reddy said,

” I am honured to be the recipient of this award; it’s a wonderful feeling and to win such a prestigious award and Special thanks to each and everyone out there who has been supporting me & loving my work.”

The heartthrob Actor Sooraj Pancholi and sizzling Actress Athiya Shetty were honored with the award for the debut performance in Bollywood. Actor Sooraj Pancholi said,

“I want to thank Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Award for giving me this award and I promise to make this worth it every time.”

Organizer Harsh Mehta was seen thanking everybody for their support and their appearance, he said,

“I am thankful to my friends and audience for their tremendous appreciation and love. I promise to keep up & every year the special for everyone.”


Awardees List:

Shabana Azami (Best Supporting actress “Neerja”)

Sikander Kher (Best Actor Male for Tere Bin Laden- Dead  or Alive)

Sooraj Barjatya (Best Memorable film “Prem Ratan Dhan Payo)

Richa Chaddha (Best Actress Masaan)

Annu Kapoor (Best R.J.)

Indra Krishnan (Best Actress Female TV)

Sameer Dharmadhakari (Best Actor Male T.V.)

Deepak Dobriyal (Best Supporting Actor “Tanu Weds Manu Returns)

Shoojit Sarkar (Best director Piku

Amitabh Bhattacharya (Best Lyrics “Dilwale”)

Pritam (Best Music “Dilwale”)

Kamini Kaushal (Life Time Achievement awards )

Bappi Lahiri (Life time Achievement Awards)

Palak Muchal (Best Singer Female)

Rashmi Sharma (Best Producer T.V.)

Swaraj Singh (Best Actor Stage)

Sooraj Pancholi & Athiya Shetty (Best Pair Debut)

Amit Khanna (Best photographer Still)

Satish Reddy (Best International News Agency)

Ganesh Acharya (Best Choreographer)

Jayshree Mirchandani (Best Cosmetic)

Dr Saravanan Lakshmanan  & Dr Mahalaxmi Saravanan (Social Services in Medical)

Please follow and like us: