Posted on December 31, 2015 at 1:39 am

Bollywood Featured Hindi Music What's Happenin'

Music Review: Airlift

The soundtrack for the Akshay Kumar and Nimrat Kaur starrer Airlift is officially out! With music composed by Amaal Mallik and Ankit Tiwari and lyrics by Kumaar, Airlift is directed by Raja Krishna Menon and is set to release on January 22, 2016!

“Soch Na Sake” was the first song to be unveiled from this album. Sung by Arijit Singh, Tulsi Kumar, and Amaal Mallik, it has a pleasing melody with nice guitar bits inserted throughout the song. There is also a solo version of “Soch Na Sake” in this album by Arijit Singh. The video of the song features images of UAE’s vast deserts interspersed with the film’s love story.

“Dil Cheez Tujhe Dedi” is a fascinating blend of Middle Eastern sounds, darboukashehnai, and club beats. This track suits Arijit Singh’s voice very well and is highly catchy and addictive. Definitely my favorite one of this soundtrack so far!

The third song in the album, “Mera Nachan Nu”, has a full-on Punjabi flavor that will make you want to get up and dance bhangra. It has been sung by Brijesh Shadilya, Divya Kumar, and Amaal Mallik.

“Tu Bhoola Jise” is the soft melodious number in this soundtrack that somewhat seems to resemble “Tu Jo Mila” from Bajrangi Bhaijaan. Rendered in K.K.’s voice, there is a short patriotic insertion of Vande Mataram towards the end of the song, which seems logical in light of Airlift’s plot.