Posted on April 17, 2012 at 4:17 am

Events Featured What's Happenin'

Patang wins big at the 2012 IFFLA Award Winners

Celebration! That was the mantra throughout the six days of the 2012 Indian Film Festival of Los Angeles (IFFLA). The festival concluded Sunday evening (April 15) with a red carpet and gala 10th anniversary fete that included the Los Angeles premiere of Prashant Bhargava’s Patang and the presentation of the festival’s Grand Jury and Audience Choice Awards, followed by an after party.

Check out the rest of the awards list!
•    BEST FEATURE: CORRODE (KSHAY) directed by Karan Gour, HONORABLE MENTION: GATTU directed by Rajan Khosa
•    BEST DOCUMENTARY: MARATHON BOY directed by Gemma Atwal
•    BEST SHORT FILM: “Noise” (”Shor”) directed by Neeraj Ghaywan; HONORABLE MENTIONS: ”The 5” directed by Ravi Kapoor and Meera Simhan for her performance in “Sujata”

•    BEST FEATURE: GATTU directed by Rajan Khosa
•    BEST DOCUMENTARY:  DECODING DEEPAK directed by Gotham Chopra
•    BEST SHORT:  AUDACITY (AASHPRODHA) directed by Anirban Roy

This year’s Jurors were separated into two sets one for judging features and another for documentaries. The jurors included:

FEATURES:  SUNIL PERKASH (Prod./SALT), Academy Award Foreign Film Selection committee member and marketing guru GARY SHAPIRO and JONATHAN REIMAN (YRF Entertainment Production Head)

DOCUMENTARIES: KRISTIN FEELEY (Associate Director of the Documentary Film Program at Sundance Institute), DAVID MAGDAEL (founder and president of David Magdael & Associates) and filmmaker KATHERINE FAIRFAX WRIGHT:

Shorts jurors include actress HANNAH SIMONE (“New Girl”), actor IQBAL THEBA (“Glee”) and independent producer NICHOLAS BRUCKMAN.

In addition to the sold out screenings, IFFLA, known for its exceptional events, treated film fans to music and dance via the return of Rhythm Village/Rhythm Village Unplugged and introduced a Family Day to its roster this year. Continuing its commitment to bridging the industry gap between the Indian and American entertainment industries, IFFLA held two seminars that explored the journey that its filmmakers make from production to distribution.


“From Script to Screen: of the Making of PATANG” which included Actress Seema Biswas, screenwriter, director and editor Prashant Bhargava, producer Jaideep Punjabi, writing consultant James Townsend, and composer Mario Grigorov; and  “Aiming High: The Personal Journeys of Three Indian-American Industry Leaders” with panelists Universal Television Production Head Bela Bajaria, Producer Sunil Perkash (SALT) and Producer Adi Shankar (THE GREY) moderated by Rupak Ginn (“Royal Pains”). Eros Entertainment head Kishore Lulla along with Sundance Institute’s Michelle Satter and Alesia Weston and IFFLA Board and HFPA member Ahmed Lateef were this year’s Industry Leadership Awards (ILA) honorees on Thursday, April 12th, at the House of Blues in Hollywood which was emcee’d by ABC 7’s Eyewitness team member Subha Ravindhran.

Congrats to all the winners of IFFLA!

Please follow and like us: