Posted on March 21, 2018 at 11:47 am

Bollywood Entertainment

Irrfan Khan And Ratna Pathak Shah Won Big At News18 Reel Movie Awards 2018

Spread the love

Last evening News18 REEL Movie Awards, was held at the Taj Lands End in Mumbai in the presence of renowned artists, film-makers and producers.

Snapped at the event were actors Rajkummar Rao, Dia Mirza, Ratna Pathak Shah, Sonali Kulkarni, Richa Chadda and others.

Check out the pictures:

Picture Credit: Azhar Khan

The evening moved towards recognizing excellence in new age cinema and honouring the personalities who gave their best in 2017.

The winners of the first News18 REEL Movie Awards were:

Amit V Masurkar – Best Director for Newton.
Irrfan Khan – Best Actor (Male) for Hindi Medium
Ratna Pathak Shah – Best Actor (Female) for Lipstick Under My Burkha.

On accepting the award, Ratna shared,

“I am surprised that a 60-year old artist was picked for the award since it was quite the chance that the jury took and I am happy that they did.”

Rajkummar Rao – Breakthrough Actor

The elated star said,

“2017 was a great year for cinema and I hope it continues. I am so happy that the dream I had seen as a young boy sitting in Gurgaon has come true.”

Mukti Bhawan – Best Film

Director Shubhashish Bhutiani, along with his team accepted the awards and shared,

“I stayed in a room with my father in preparation for the film, pretty much taking a journey like the protagonist in a film, in order to make this movie happen. Winning the award is truly an honour and a privilege.”

Meher Vij – Best Supporting Actor (Female) for Secret Superstar

Pankaj Tripathi – Best Supporting Actor (Male) for Newton.

Best Director: Amit Masurkar – Newton

Best Screenplay: Mukti Bhawan

Best Dialogues: Amitosh Nagpal – Hindi Medium

Best Web Series: TVF’s Bachelor Season 2

Best Music: Tumhari Sulu

Best Playback Singer (Female): Meghna Mishra – Secret Superstar

Best Playback Singer (Male): Guru Randhawa – Tumhari Sulu

Best Cinematography: Sirsha Ray – A Death In The Gunj

Best Editing: Shweta Venkat – Newton

Best Production Design: Parul Sondh – Daddy

Best Sound: Anish John – Trapped