Posted on February 26, 2015 at 2:20 am

Bollywood Featured Music Uncategorized What's Happenin'

Pictures: Music Fraternity get together to celebrate GiMA Awards!

The GiMA awards also known as the Global Indian Music Awards was a fun night of celebrating music and performances. And many singers and composers and talented musicians went home with awards. It was a great year for the music industry this 2015 especially one talented musician and composer – Amit Trivedi!

The biggest winner of the night was Amit Trivedi for the film ‘Queen’. The singer/ composer won for Best Music Director, Best Film Song (London Tumakhda from Queen) and Best Music Arranger with Sourav Roy, also for ‘Queen’.

AR Rahman’s won two awards, one each in film and non film categories. He took home the award for Best Film Album for ‘Highway’ and Best Fusion Album for ‘Coke Studio at MTV Season 3’ in non film. The Best Music Debut award in both, film and non film categories went to Armaan Malik.



In the film category, Arijit Singh took home two awards, one for Best Playback Singer Male for the track ‘Muskrane’ from ‘Citylights’ and for Best Duet for the track ‘Samjhavan’, with Shreya Ghoshal. Kanika Kapoor received Best Playback Singer Female for ‘Baby Doll’ (Ragini MMS2). Divya Kumar won Best Upcoming Singer, and Shraddha Kapoor was awarded Best Celebrity Singer of the Year! Well that was no surprise! Music composer Anandji Virji Shah was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to music.

In the non-film music category, Zakir Hussain was bestowed with the Global Musician Award. He also won Best Ghazal Album for ‘Hazir 2’, with Hariharan. ‘Haider’ won two awards- one for Best Lyricist for the track ‘Bismil’ by Gulzar and for Best Background Score by Vishal Bhardwaj. Best Pop Album went to Papon featuring Various Artistes for the ‘Coke Studio at MTV Season 3’ album. Best Electronic Dance Track award was given to The Midival Punditz and Kutle Khan for the track ‘Twilight’. Best Hindustani Classical Album- Instrumental was awarded to Niladri Kumar.

Daler Mehndi took home the Wizcraft Honour for Best Live Performer, and a special award for Best Music Initiative was awarded to the Red Bull Tour Bus. The Mihir Joshi Band received the Best Rock Album award for ‘Mumbai Blues’. The award for Best Folk Album was given to The Raghu Dixit Project for the album ‘Jag Changa’. Best Devotional Album was awarded to Shankar Mahadevan for ‘My Devotional Favourites’.

Best Film Album – ‘Yaariyan’

Best Music Director – Pritam

Global Musician Honour – Zakir Hussain

Best Playback Singer Male – Arijit Singh for ‘Muskrane’

Best Playback Singer Female – Kanika Kapoor for ‘Baby Doll’

Best Music Debut – Armaan Malik

Global Music Icon Award – Zakir Hussain

Celebrity Singer Of The Year – Shraddha Kapoor

Most Popular Song on Radio – Galiyan from ‘Ek Villain’

Most Streamed Song – Sunny Sunny from ‘Yaariyan’

Best Music Arranger – Amit Trivedi, Sourav Roy for Queen

Best Pop Album – Various Artistes for Coke Studio at MTV Season 3 – Papon

Best Electronic Music – Midival Punditz

Best Devotional Music – My Devotional Favorites by Shankar Mahadevan

Best Rock Album – Mihir Joshi for Mumbai Blues

Best Fusion Album – Coke Studio at MTV Season 3 – AR Rahman

Best Ghazal Album – Hazir 2

A number of big names from the film and music industry were seen at the event including, Shahid Kapoor, Shraddha Kapoor, Anil Kapoor, Shaan, AR Rahman, Hariharan, Shankar Mahadevan, Bhushan Kumar, Armaan Malik, Manish Paul, Aditi Rao Hydari, drummer Shivamani, Neha Kakkar, Ankit Tiwari, Sonu Nigam, Mihir Joshi, Arjan Bajwa, Arijit Singh, Hard Kaur, Urvashi Rautela, Raghu Dixit and others.  Be sure to stay tuned for the show on Star Plus coming soon!