Posted on October 18, 2017 at 1:51 pm

Entertainment News North America

The Television Academy Hall of Fame Announces 2017 Inductees!

Spread the love

The Television Academy’s Hall of Fame Selection Committee recently announced its list of inductees in the 24th Hall of Fame class.

The Hall of Fame, which recognizes “persons who have made outstanding contributions in the arts, sciences, or management of television via career contributions and achievements”, will welcome four new additions to its ranks: Emmy-winning writer and producer John Wells, Emmy-nominated writer/producer/director Shonda Rhimes, ten-time Emmy-winning art director and production designer Roy Christopher, and the entire original cast of Saturday Night Live, which includes legendary comedians like John Belushi, Chevy Chase, and Gilda Radner.

Says Hayma Washington, chairman and CEO of the Television Academy:

All of these individuals are innovators who have shaped television and left an indelible mark on the medium and our culture. We are honored to welcome the latest group of distinguished individuals and look forward to showcasing their impacts for future generations.

The 2017 honorees will join more than 135 individuals previously inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception 1984. Among these individuals are entertainment legends such as Lucille Ball, Walt Disney, Barbara Walters, Oprah Winfrey, Bea Arthur, William Shatner, and many more.